Thursday, 14 November 2019

FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019 - Selected officials

Selected officials for 2019 CWC, to be played in Qatar on December. 


Referee: Abdulrahman Al Jassim (Qatar, 1987)
Assistant Referee 1: Taleb Al Marri (Qatar, 1988)
Assistant Referee 2: Saoud Ahmed Almaqaleh (Qatar, 1988)
VAR: Ming Fu (China, 1983)


Referee: Mustapha Ghorbal (Algeria, 1985)
Assistant Referee 1: Mahmoud Ahmed Abouelregal (Egypt, 1984)
Assistant Referee 2: Mokrane Gourari (Algeria, 1982)
VAR: Bakary Gassama (Gambia, 1979)


Referee: Ismail Elfath (USA, 1982)
Assistant Referee 1: Kyle Atkins (USA, 1986)
Assistant Referee 2: Corey Parker (USA, 1986)
VAR: Alan Kelly (Republic of Ireland, 1975)


Referee: Roberto Tobar (Chile, 1978)
Assistant Referee 1: Christian Schiemann (Chile, 1977)
Assistant Referee 2: Claudio Alejandro Rios Ortiz (Chile, 1977)
VAR: Esteban Daniel Ostojich Vega (Uruguay, 1982)


Referee: Ovidiu Alin Hațegan (Romania, 1980)
Assistant Referee 1: Octavian Sovre (Romania, 1973)
Assistant Referee 2: Sebastian Gheorghe (Romania, 1976)
VAR: Juan Martínez Munuera (Spain, 1982), Benoît Millot (France, 1982)

Support referee: Abdelkader Zitouni (Tahiti, 1981)


  1. Interesting VAR choice, because Martinez Munuera did not have any VAR appointment (only AVAR), in CL so far. Hernandez would be the more obvious choice from Spain.
    Hategan was not expected IMO, but a confirmation, that he belongs to the top UEFA referees at the moment and a chance for more VAR experience for him.

    Good to see, that all 5 referees have not been to a CWC before.

  2. How is it possible that non-FIFA referee Alan Kelly is going to the FIFA tournament?

    1. At first we must specify that Alan Kelly is a former FIFA referee (for Republic of Ireland), so clearly a different situation than a NO FIFA referee at all.
      He joined the seminary held by FIFA on last February in Doha, QAtar, a very early step for 2022 preselection, with the following names from CONCACAF: Drew Fischer (CAN - 1980), David Gantar (CAN - 1975), Adonai Escobedo González (MEX - 1987), Edvin Jurisevic (USA - 1975), Alan Kelly (USA - 1975), Kevin Stott (USA - 1967).
      In any case, there isn't need to be FIFA referee for being VAR in FIFA and also UEFA matches (we had some examples for UEFA as well).

  3. Two VAR's from UEFA where everywhere else only gets one and no OFC representative.